2023 COLLEGE OF REGISTERED NURSES OF SASKATCHEWAN VIRTUAL ANNUAL MEETING

MAY 3, 2023 BY VIDEO CONFERENCE

MINUTES

WELCOME F. Verville, NP, President, welcomed the assembly to the

2023 Annual Meeting.

OPENING REMARKS/

BLESSING

F. Verville, NP, President, welcomed Knowledge Keeper

Judy Pelly, who gave opening remarks and opening

blessing.

BUSINESS F. Verville, NP, President, called the 106th Annual

MEETING Meeting of the College of Registered Nurses of Saskatchewan

to order at 1307 hours on May 3, 2023

COUNCIL F. Verville, NP, President, introduced the current

MEMBERS members of Council: President-Elect: Moni Snell, NP,

Members at Large: Mariam Nganzo, RN, Mary Ellen Walker, RN, Leah Thorp, RN, Natalie Thiessen, RN, Kathy Chabot, RN and Joelynne Radbourne, NP. Public Representatives: Doug Finnie, Ryan Klassen and Gaston de la Sablonniere.

PARLIAMENTARIAN Parliamentarian, Merrilee Rasmussen, Q.C.

ADOPTION OF THE

RULES AND PROCEDURES

MOTION: Moni Snell, NP AND Ila Weeks, RN

Adoption of the Rules and Procedures for this virtual

annual meeting.

CARRIED

3 Abstained - Necy Encarnacion, RN, Kristine Helt, RN and

Linda Lueken, RN

CHIEF F. Verville, NP, President announced that Krista Lynne

SCRUTINEER Farthing, RN, was appointed to act as the Chief

Scrutineer.

AGENDA F. Verville, NP, President, asked the assembly for

approval of the agenda for the 2023 Annual Meeting:

MOTION: Valerie Foulds MacLeod, RN AND

Delasi Essien, RN

THAT the agenda for the 2023 Annual General Meeting be

approved as presented.

CARRIED

1 Abstained - Melanie Martin, RN

MINUTES F. Verville, NP, President, advised that copies of the minutes of

the 2022 Annual General Meeting which have already been approved by Council are available online for the members'

reference.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT F. Verville, NP, President, gave the President's Report.

EXECUTIVE F. Verville, NP, President, introduced Cindy Smith, RN

REPORT DIRECTOR'S Executive Director, to provide the Executive Director's

report.

BYLAW REVISIONS F. Verville, NP, President, reminded the assembly that, for

bylaw changes to be adopted, 2/3 of those voting must favor the bylaw change, amendments to the main motion require a

simple majority.

BYLAW REVISIONS M. Snell, NP, Chair of the Legislation and Bylaws Committee

presented the proposed bylaw changes for approval.

BYLAW V MOTION: Melanie Martin, RN AND Mary Ellen Walker, RN

THAT Bylaw V Section 2 (2) (a) and Section 4 (3) (b) be

revised as proposed to our membership

CARRIED

1 Abstained - Jeanne Nordstrom, RN

BYLAW V MOTION: Joelynne Radbourne, NP AND Janet Olaopa, RN

THAT Bylaw V Section 3 (1) (a, b, d, e and f) and (2) (a, b, and

d) be revised as proposed to our membership.

CARRIED

BYLAW V MOTION: Mary Ellen Walker, RN AND Racheal Martens,

RN

THAT Bylaw V Section 2 (1) (e), Section 3 (2) (c) and Section 4

(2) (c) be revised as proposed to our membership.

CARRIED

BYLAW VI MOTION: Leah Thorp, RN AND Mariam Nganzo, RN

THAT Bylaw VI Section 3 (1) (b) (vi) be revised as proposed

to our membership.

CARRIED

BYLAW XV MOTION: Joelynne Radbourne, NP AND Joanne Petersen,

RN

THAT Bylaw XV, Section (1) (4) be revised as proposed to

our membership.

CARRIED

REPORT OF SCRUTINEERS

F. Verville, NP, President, provided the election report.

F. Verville, NP, President, announced that the total ballots

received were 1833.

NOMINATIONS COMMITTEE

Candidates for Nominations Committee (two-year term):

J Daniel Drummond, RN (Fort Qu'Appelle) 329 votes
Dawne Badrock, RN (RM of Dundurn) 683 votes

Grace Onwuka, RN (Saskatoon) 778 votes

F. Verville, NP, President, declared Grace Onwuka, RN

elected as member of the Nominations Committee.

CRNS COUNCIL Candidates for President-elect (two-year term)

Janna Krismer, RN (Saskatoon)

F. Verville, NP, President, declared Janna Krismer, RN

elected as President-elect by acclamation.

Candidates for Member-at-Large Electoral Region 1 (three-year term) – (Southwest Integrated Service Area established by the SHA)

Mariam Nganzo, RN (Moose Jaw)

F. Verville, NP, President, declared Mariam Nganzo, RN elected as Member-at-Large Electoral Region 1 by acclamation.

Candidates for Member-at-Large Electoral Region 2 (three-year term) – (Southeast Integrated Service Area established by the SHA)

Alison Morris, RN (Lampman)

F. Verville, NP, President, declared Alison Morris, RN elected as Member-at-Large Electoral Region 2 by acclamation.

Candidates for Member-at-Large for Nursing Practice Area: nursing education, nursing administration, policy or research area (three-year term):

Angelica Daigneault, RN (Ile-a-la-Crosse) 592 votes Kathleen Chabot, RN (North Battleford) 608 votes Patrick Blais, RN (Turtleford) 603 votes

- F. Verville, NP, President, declared Kathleen Chabot, RN elected as Member-at-Large for Nursing Practice Area: nursing education, nursing administration, policy or research area.
- F. Verville, NP, President, thanked unsuccessful candidates for allowing their names to stand and encouraged them to run again at another time and/or to pursue committee work within the CRNS.

DESTROYING OF ELECTRONIC BALLOTS

F. Verville, NP, President, asked for a motion to destroy the electronic ballots after ninety days.

MOTION: Krista Lynn Farthing, RN AND Delasi Essien, RN

THAT the ballots be destroyed ninety days from this date.

CARRIED

1 Abstained - Melanie Martin, RN

THANK YOU'S

F. Verville, NP, Outgoing President, thanked Merrilee Rasmussen, Parliamentarian; Scrutineer, Krista Lynn Farthing, RN, and the CRNS staff and members of the assembly.

M. Snell, NP, Incoming President thanked F. Verville, NP, Outgoing President for her time on Council and as President. Her leadership has been invaluable as she has led Council through a name change, governance changes and more, she will be missed.

INTRODUCTIONS OF NEW COUNCIL

M. Snell, NP, President, introduced members of the 2023/2024 Council to the assembly.

President: Moni Snell, NP

President Elect: Janna Krismer, RN

Members-at-Large: Leah Thorp, RN, Kathy Chabot, RN, Joelynne Radbourne, NP, Mary Ellen Walker, RN, Mariam Nganzo, RN, Alison Morris, RN, Natalie Thiessen, RN

Public Representatives: Doug Finnie, Ryan Klassen and Gaston de la Sablonniere

Executive Director: Cindy Smith, RN

CLOSING REMARKS/ BLESSING M. Snell, NP, President, welcomed back Judy Pelly who gave closing remarks.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: Melanie Martin, RN AND Cassandra Leggott, NP

THAT the CRNS 2023 Annual Meeting be adjourned.

CARRIED

M. Snell, NP, President, adjourned the 106^{th} Annual Meeting at 14:48hours.

Approved/Corrected on August 23, 2023

M. Snell, NP President

Julie Szabo Recording Secretary